Go to Top

Isla Grand Beach Resort Reviews

“Unpretentious and Very Consistent”

September 2014

My wife and I have been traveling to Isla Grand every week following labor day for the past 7 Years.
If it is anything, it is consistent. To see the same faces every year is a true testament to the way that they run their business. Rafael and Rick from the outside bar are a big reason as to why we return every year. They always remember our names and are very kind. If I heard correctly, they have both been there for over 15 Years. I know they have been there for at least 7. Make sure you make an effort to meet them if you decide to visit.
As far as where to stay, we always stay in the beach view rooms. We stayed in the condos one year and it was more of a hassle. If you need to go up to your room you have to walk through the lobby and up the elevator. It isn’t very convenient if you are wet from the beach or pool area. Plus, they are bit more expensive. If you do plan on staying for more than a week, it might be a good idea to stay in a condo so that you can make your own meals eventually. The food on the island isn’t the best. Do try Yummy’s, Grapevine Cafe, Gabriellas, Dirty Al’s, and the food at the Isla Grand restaurant.
The property is kept up very well. Every morning there are numerous landscapers taking care of the grounds. Oddly I recognize them from past years as well. The turnover at this place seems to be pretty low. That really says something.
Overall I would recommend this place highly. We have ventured out to scope out a few other places in the past years, and it seems like nothing else compares.
See you next year!

 

 

“Great place to stay”

September 2014

 

We planned a 30th anniversary get-away. Our reservation was for a beachfront room. When we got there, after an all day drive, the lady at the front desk told us there was a problem with the beachfront rooms. They up-graded us to a two-bedroom, two-bath condo on the 9th floor! If we weren’t on the beach, we were enjoying the great view from the balcony. We will return, and we recommend the Isla Grand to everyone

 

 

“Here’s what I think…”

September 2014

Just had to take a moment to recommend the Isla Grand. From my personal experience being there on numerous occasions I have been pleasantly surprised by the quality staff and was happy with the accommodations. I know that the hotel has been around quite a while but they have done some renovations and it is much improved overall. The hotel is a great place to stay, the beach is close, great pool, good restaurant with lovely view and everyone on staff has been super. Of course, not everything goes smoothly but when issues arrive I have noticed that the staff is very helpful and always willing to work with you, and that, to me means a lot.

 

 

“Isla Grand Beach Resort”

September 2014

I was impressed not only by the accommodations at the resort but the friendly and helpful staff. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a fun place to stay. These guys get 2 thumbs up! I will stay here on my next trip!

 

 

“Weekend Relaxation (Labor Day) The BEST!”

September 2014

Great location- Tennis Courts, 2 pools, 3 spas, beach, no resort fee, no extra parking fee, hammocks and shuffleboard. We stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Went to Hammerhead Deck for happy hour 5-9, then to Quarterdeck Lounge with great entertainment 9-close on night two. The Windjammer’s cafe was great and wonderful breakfast buffet with omelet station and they try to always seat you near the windows. Out around the pool was a Whiskey Shack open early to late and then the Isla Grill had very reasonable price burgers, dogs and chicken. We could not of had better service throughout the complex anywhere. The biggest plus- there were always lounge chairs out around the pool. The only con was the sleep number bed remote did not work. But what you have never had you can’t miss.

 

 

“Isla Grand”

September 2014

 

I found the entire hotel staff – Event Planning, Banquet Services, Audio/Visual, Guest Services, Front Desk staff, Bellhops, etc. – to be very professional and extremely accommodating to our needs. Special thanks to Pat, Terri, Edward and the entire staff including Bellhop Phillip McInnis who was seemingly everywhere when needed. A wonderful facility and great destination for both business and pleasure. The hotel lounges provide quality entertainment. Overall, a wonderful experience.

 

 

“Super Hotel-Awesome Service”

September 2014

 

This is a true, self-contained resort destination. The Hotel Staff from top to bottom treat you like family. In a time where service-oriented business is going by the wayside, this Hotel excels at treating you like a King or Queen. The restaurant is extremely reasonable on price, and the food is great. Most hotels really fail in the restaurant, but not this one. Great variety, great price, great taste. This was a business trip, and the meeting rooms were beautiful. Great live music bands from all over the USA play nightly at the bar. Can’t ask for any better beach-front location that has it all on South Padre Island, TX.

“Wonderful hotel”

July 2014

Isla Grand is a beautiful hotel that is clean, modern, and up-to-date. It has a wonderful beach front, 2 pools, and fun opportunities to enjoy water sports. We loved the restaurants and music groups playing there as well. The staff was helpful and friendly and our rooms were always clean. We enjoyed the fireworks each evening over the Laguna Madre, too. I’m sure you will have a fabulous vacation if you stay at Isla Grand on South Padre Island.

 

 

“Prime location for the perfect vacation.”

July 2014

Grew up on S. Padre. Was excited to go back. Isla Grand made me feel like I was right back home again. Went with my wife and four kids. We all agree that the pools were excellent, staff was extremely helpful, and the rooms were top notch. I would recommend Isla Grand as the ONLY choice if you’re heading to Padre.

 

 

“the most amazing place”

July 2014

I just net Raphael. I have been around the world to snow if the best hotels and resorts in Europe but Raphael at the isla grade is the most amazing person I have ever met. He was sweet, conversational, and intelligent all at the same time!! He tends bar in the beautiful waterfall and wave pool setting that they have am designed to give the experience of the beach without the sand!! If is an oasis in the midst of a desert. While breakers offers many pool experiences the isla grande offers the beauty with convenience please visit here and tell Raphael that you ‘heard it through the grape vine! He will definitely help to make your day a better fat wether it is with his smile, whit, Ir drinks. ☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️ Is how I feel once I left here!!!

 

 

“A Gem in the Middle of the Ocean”

July 2014

The Isla Grand Beach Resort is a wonderful gem located on South Padre Island, Texas. The views from this resort are incredible. The people there are friendly and helpful. They know how to make a vacation special,unique and restful. It is nice to find a resort like this to take a few days off or even a week. Plus the Isla Grand Beach Resort is in a great location on the Island. One of the best kept secrets about South Padre Island is the fall season on the Island. The water is still warm and the beaches are so pretty. I like the seafood at the Isla Grand Beach Resort restaurant too

 

 

“Wonderful Time – Great service; outstanding amenities!”

July 2014

We stayed at the Isla Grand with our three kids. We had an excellent time. With many options to stay in, we chose a condo for the view and kitchen. With two pools, weight room (on the beach), beach, we never had to leave the hotel. Isla Grand offers a wonderful restaurant with a beautiful view on the second level, a great place to gather in the evening for drinks (Quarterdeck). They make it so easy that if you’re outside, you can order a drink at the little cabanas as well as an outside burger stand. Plus, if you forget anything, the in-house market has it all! And most of all, they have a coffee shop on the first floor to help you grab that coffee to keep up with the kiddos. From the moment we stepped into the door, to the moment we checked out, the staff was very friendly and always willing to help – a great plus for a family with three little ones! All-in-all, we had an absolutely terrific experience!

 

 

“WONDERFUL STAY”

July 2014

It was a wonderful stay from start to finish. From the moment we stepped into the lobby, the staff was totally amazing, they were able to give us our suite very quickly, not to mention the parking was very close and convenient. Our suite was beautiful with a breathtaking view of the entire pool area as well as the beach. The suite was beautifully decorated and the beds were so comfortable with plenty of comfy pillows. The entire suite was very clean and spacious and the kitchen was equipped with up to date appliances. It was absolutely fabulous. We highly recommend the Isla Grand Beach Resort. It’s a must stay.

 

 

“Want start your vacation right stay at the Isla Grand Hotel”

July 2014

I took my mother and Aunt to the Island, they really enjoyed their stay at the Hotel. We were able to walk down to the ocean and enjoyed our long walks in the mornings. Front desk was very helpful and friendly in getting us rooms on a short notices. I have family and friend who are looking forward to a vacation at the Island and I recommended this hotel to them.

 

 

“Awesome time!”

July 2014

My family and I had a fabulous time at the Isla Grand! Fabulous view of the Gulf and the great pool area from the balconies, Amazing breakfast buffet, friendly staff and great entertainment in the Quarterdeck Lounge! What more can I say, this place has it all. I will definitely be back!

 

 

“Amazing summer vacation!!”

July 2014

Our family of four (2 parents, 2 kids-3 & 5 yrs of age) had such a fantastic time at Isla Grand! The swimming pool was pristine with excellent service. The beach was just a short distance from our room with umbrella service readily available. We enjoyed a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Mexico from our balcony in the tower. The staff were warm and friendly, even providing fun children’s activities to give my husband and I a break. We also loved the daily and nightly live music as well as the quarter deck restaurant. We look forward to planning our return visit to Isla Grand!

 

 

“Great Experience!”

July 2014

 

Wonderful drive-up appeal. Christian, the gentleman outside the main entrance was a great help! The front desk staff appeared a little frazzled, but they were very nice. We booked about a month in advance and asked for a high elevation room, yet we were given a room on the lowest possible level. I spoke to the management at check out (Luis) about it and he was very nice and apologized. I should have spoken to someone about it when we arrived. I am sure they would have fixed it for us.
The room was very clean and beachy. The cleaning ladies were amazing! We were not the neatest guests, yet they were the best cleaning crew I have seen!
We had a suite. It had two bedrooms. One had a king and one had twin beds. The living room had a sleeper sofa. I wish one of the rooms had two queens instead of a king. The twins just didn’t work well for us.
The kitchen was equipped with dishes, pans, utensils, etc. All you need to add to produce a complete meal would be a can opener and food.
The eating options at the hotel were plentiful, yet lacked quality. There was a great Italian place within walking distance.
The hotel has a list of daily free activities for the kids and a parent’s night out on Saturday for $20 a child. This was a great vacation and I will definitely stay here again!

 

 

“Best place on the island!”

July 2014

 

I’ve come here every year and have never been disappointed. This what a resort should be. I highly recommend it. The pool is great and the staff is great. plus the Quarterdeck is a great party place. The rooms are clean and spacious.

 

 

“Beautiful View”

July 2014

I definitely feel that you pay for the view, and the upkeep of the grounds. The staff was very friendly, and the atmosphere was fun. There was an initial problem with our room, and they wanted to charge the same amount for a room with the view of a wall. The problem was absolved quickly, and we were given a room with a view of the beach. Much better. We brought our two girls ages 8 and 6, and this was there first time ever to the beach. It was great to be able to walk out onto the balcony and see the beach. I will say, the hotel room was a little run down. The door to the balcony was not easy to maneuver, and my husband was the only one who could really open and shut it completely. Our AC unit appeared to be falling out of the wall, and was very noisy. The room did not stay as cool as we would have liked, but it wasn’t too uncomfortable. As for the noise, we could not enjoy the sounds of the ocean because of the noisy AC units all around us. That was a little disappointing. The parking wasn’t the easiest either. There were little options to park near our room, and on multiple occasions, we had to back all the way down the drive to turn around. With that being said, we did enjoy the easy access to the beach. The pool was very refreshing and kid friendly when we were needing a break from the sand and waves. The breakfast at the hotel was always good. We enjoyed eating at the Hungry Surfer every day. Their hotdogs were amazing. Overall, we had a great time. It is definitely a family friendly place, and will probably stay there again.

 

 

“11 Annual Summer Conference”

July 2014

The Isla Grand Resort has the best customer service I have ever experienced. All the representatives at the Isla Grand will assist you with the utmost respect, courtesy and value. My experience at the Isla Grand Beach Resort has always been not just the very best, but memorable.

 

 

“Best Resort on SPI!”

July 2014

We’ve been here many times and just love to come back. The setting is beautiful. The pools have recently been re-done and are very inviting. The Whiskey Shack is a great place to have a drink and enjoy the beach life. The nightlife is the best on the island. The band in the Quarterdeck is always top notch.

 

 

“Great Place on the Island”

June 2014

This is our favorite place to stay on the island. Great access to the beach, superb pools and convenience just make it a great pick. My family loves it here from the grounds to the restaurants. For the cost, the condos were great. Large bedrooms, two full baths, full kitchen, with larger sitting/dining areas and beach view balconies are a definite plus to the property. Restaurants are great too, along with an onsite island services office, it jus really made for an overall convenient and great family trip! Not to mention, for work, the ballroom is the only on the island that can house a large event, short of the convention center. Also, for the island, the wifi was really good!

 

 

“Beautiful, relaxing and full of things to do”

June 2014

Our stay at the Isla Grand Beach Resort was more than we hoped for. I was concerned after reading several reviews but found no grounds for any of the negative feedback i read. The beach is clean and beautiful and the resort is located on the beach. The pictures do not do it justice. The landscaping is full of beautiful tropical flowers and well maintained. The rooms were just as advertised and the staff were friendly and accommodating in every way. I was not only pleased but surprised at how beautiful this whole property is and how well it is maintained. The grill at the pool is nice if you do not want to leave the pool area to go to a restaurant (burgers are very tasty). There is a starbucks located on the property. A convenient information desk has brochures to any activity or restaurant available on the island. There is free bus transportation to take you to local restaurants and bus schedules which are color coded and easy to understand. I would definately consider booking again in the future

 

 

“Jewel on SPI”

June 2014

Have been to the bar for nightlife but never stayed til this trip. Very clean, great beach atmosphere, pool is clean, although not a swim up bar was loaded with everything you need to eat and drink. Bartender was very hospitable and welcoming. Restaurant was not too expensive, good food and staff was nice. We requested a beachfront villa which is separate from the tower but room was nice and we were 10 steps from the sand. In room fridge, pullout couch and king bed. Easily would have slept 4. Our new favorite place!

 

 

“South Padre Islands Best Resort”

June 2014

South Padre Island is beautiful and loaded with hundreds of resort/vacation options but the affordable room rates and STAFF at the Isle Grand Beach Resort set this property apart from all the rest!
Centrally located, the entire resort is beautiful and belongs on a postcard. The rooms are spacious and very clean; as soon as you check in (always greeted by a smiling face), you are immediately relaxed and transformed into an islander. The grounds are impeccable, the views are gorgeous and the attention to every detail is simply first class. There is entertainment galore with plenty to see and do without even leaving the resort; great food, awesome pools, clean beaches, nightlife, tennis and plenty of other activities for both adults and kids alike. Teri, Pat and the entire Isle Grand staff are why we will be coming back and referring friends to this location for years to come…great job, as always, ladies!
Do yourself a favor and book your next trip to South Padre Island at the Isle Grand Beach Resort, you won’t be disappointed.
Bobby

 

 
5 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2014

Great property featuring cabana type rooms as well as rental privately-owned condominiums. We stayed in a condominium and were impressed with all of the renovations that have been done in the last few years. Since our visit 5 years ago, kitchens and baths have been upgraded and most recently HD TV service and wireless internet throughout. A major renovation of pool area featuring zero entry and state of the art lighting at night. Windjammer Restaurant offered great quality and reasonably-priced food with a wonderful view–day or night. Quarterdeck Bar provided great live entertainment with no cover charge and only an elevator ride back to our room. Staff was most helpful with questions and requests. Only adverse comment we heard was from a lady on the elevator who had rented privately and was denied access to ice machine, laundry, fitness center etc. so would recommend renting directly from Isla Grand or at least check with them to make sure if renting online that it is approved by Isla Grand to prevent disappointment.

 
____________________________________________________
 
April 25, 2014

Isla Grand is hands down the best property on South Padre Island, the customer service is amazing and the staff goes above and beyond to meet your needs. The Windjammer Cafes food is amazing and the Quarterdeck is always FUN FUN FUN!

 
______________________________________________________
 
5 of 5 stars5 of 5 starsReviewed May 1, 2014EW

As locals, we go to the island a lot. Sometimes we spend the night and sometimes we just stay the day. But our favorite spot to go, is Isla Grand. We love the pool area and now that it is fixed up, it’s better than ever! The lights at night are awesome, too. Very relaxing and enjoyable experience for the whole family.

 
———————————————————————————————————-
 
5 of 5 starsReviewed May 4, 2014NEW

Had a great time the Hotel was great no problems with the registration. The friendliness of the staff was great. The club was awesome the music and the great friendliness of the staff and the enviroment was great. Great place to go too and would recommand it to friends and family.

 
—————————————————————————————————–
 
5 of 5 stars5 of 5 starsReviewed May 5th, 2014NEW

Very friendly staff, best hotel on the island, has great night life, food, and ambiance off the pool/beachside is amazing! From entering into the marble foyer to check out this hotel is 5 star all the way …

 
——————————————————————————————–
 
5 of 5 starsReviewed May 5, 2014NEW

I attended a seminar at another location but had to stay at Isla Grand with my family since they were the ones that could accommodate my family. My family did not want to leave!!! We have already booked our next family vacation and other family and friends will be joining us.

____________________________________________

Kevin L

“Pearsall Texas

“Outstanding!”

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everything you want in one place. Restaurants, night life, swimming pools, fitness room and the beach. The staff was very friendly and the entertainment was fantastic! If you did want to leave the resort you never needed to get in your car. We found some great restaurants and shopping all within a couple of blocks. Very easy walking distance. We will definitely be coming back to Isla Grand. There is something for every age group here.

_____________________________________________

Saul P

Austin, TX

“40th Birthday on SPI”

Reviewed August 20, 2013

It has been several years since we have stayed at Isla Grand and the improvements are noticeable. The room we stayed in did not look or feel dated, was clean, and very large. The restaurant for breakfast was outstanding and the service was excellent. The two swimming pools are beautiful but I wish the water had been cooler-it felt like a lukewarm bath late in the afternoon. One concern was the amount of debris on the pool’s edge later in the afternoon-it was obvious the guests left it there and no one from the hotel stakk had bothered to clean it up. One word of advise-if you stay in a cabana and want to walk out of your room and straight into the pool or beach ask for the first floor. If you stay on the second floor you have to enter from the parking lot side and although you have a beautiful patio looking at the pool and ocean you have to walk and take stairs to get to the water.

———————————————————————-

Swelker

Dallas, TX

“Wonderful time with my Granddaughter”

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have stayed at Isla Grand for many years. First trip with my 9 year old Granddaughter (By Myself). One of those memorable times you will remember the rest of your life. The staff become friends over the years and always extremely helpful. Always consistent and great service and food. Whiskey Shack is a blast with Rick and Raffeto the best bartenders in the U.S.

Great place for families and would always recommend

———————————————————————

Larry M

San Antonio, TX

“September Singles SPN trip to So Padre”

Reviewed August 5, 2013

WE had 45 of us go there last September and had so much fun that 35 of us are going back this coming Sept. 2013 for a 4 day trip
The food at the Hotel is great and down the way Louies is also great
Pier 19is good for lunch & margaritas.
We also had a good time on the beach and the water was so clear you could be chest deep & still see your feet.

———————————————————————————

RoadrunnerTexas

Texas

“Overall great experience! We’d stay here again!”

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We checked in on Thursday, 7/25 and checked out on Sunday, 7/26. Our family travels ALOT, so we are probably considered “hotel snobs” but we let the staff know that when we checked in. We booked a 2 bed/ 2 bath condo. According to the staff all of the condos are individually owned so they can’t guarantee that the rooms are all updated the same. Our first room had a wonderful view, a wrap-around balcony, granite countertops however the fridge was old and the furniture was dated. Based on the price we paid per night we requested another room, it took about an hour but Omar the manager accommodated our request. The condos have full kitchens with a stove/oven, flatware, cooking utensils, plates, glasses etc. All condos face the beach, pools and tennis courts.
We stopped in Port Isabel to purchase snacks, bottled water etc.

This hotel has full beach access, two pools, a pool bar, etc. the photos are an accurate depiction. The grounds are beautiful and clean.

It’s extremely difficult to keep everything clean at a beachfront hotel so at the end of the day yes there is sand in the pool. No big deal, I’ve experienced the same in Jamaica, Cancun and Hawaii.

The staff throughout the hotel was extremely friendly and attentive. The buffet breakfast at the Windjammer was tasty and included made to order omelettes, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage and pancakes.

We absolutely loved the hamburgers prepared at the grill by the pool! You gotta try them! Real charbroiled beef burgers!

————————————————————————-

Exquisite service!”
Back at the Isla Grand again!
Once more the friendliness and professionalism of the staff made our stay
wonderful. Manager David Gracia made us feel like we were family when we
entered the Windjammer Restaurant. The food and accommodations were out of
this world! The view of the Gulf of Mexico was amazing.

—————————————————————————-
“The service and staff are tops.”

I have traveled through out the world and to discover this type of service in my own backyard is awesome. Recently I hosted my motor cycle club Christmas party (apprx 600 guest) at the Isla Grand Resort and the service and accommodations were the best. The service and attention to details provided by all of the Isla were great. I would definitely recommend the Isla Grand to anyone wanting an unforgettable experience. The management was available throughout the entire stay and event to assist with any unforeseen issues. I would highly recommend the Isla Grand Resort South Padre Island to anyone wanting to host an unforgettable event.

Yours truly,
BlueICE (Treasurer)
Los Canales/La Familia Motor Cycle Club
South Texas Chapter
Stayed December 2012

—————————————————————————-

“Hands down best resort on the Island!”

Hands down Isla Grand is the best resort/hotel on SPI. Great beachfront location, fabulous pool and pool side bar, great on-site restaurant (ask for David – he’s our favorite manager), on-site bar with large TV’s and great music for dancing! Great for family and adult only getaways! We always look forward to the annual Redfish Rodeo ladies only fishing tournament headquartered at the Isla Grand. I’m one that normally loves going “off-campus” however you really don’t need to when you have everything right there!. Book your next stay in SPI at Isla Grand, and you wont regret it!

Room Tip: We prefer pool side rooms!
————————————————————

“Isla Grand Resort – S Padre Island, Great accommodations and staff”

What a FANTASTIC place to stay!!! Awesome and pet friendly as well… *****
Five Star *****

Had a great time. Great staff with great accommodations. Very pet friendly and perfect for a getaway. I recommend this resort to those of you who are unfamiliar with the Island and just looking for a great place to stay. The staff was unbelievably kind and courteous. The main restaurant was phenomenal with a great view. My comments don’t do justice to the fantastic, fun, romantic time you will have here. Thanks to the managers Omar and Agustin for great personal service as well. Looking forward to our next visit.

Jack Johnson

“Great week in SPI”Waltapod- Tripadvisorreturned to the isla grand for a 3rd year in a row to attend a conference. location is excellent. stayed in the 2/2 condo portion. all the condos have slightly different interiors, but all are well appointed with everything you need. price has been steadily increasing and finding a rental is a becoming a better value, if budget tight. excellent pool area and quick easy access to the beach. wi-fi continues to not function well in the tower, but a trip down to the lobby areas will cure this. still one of the finest properties on the island. can not completely disagree with some of the reviewers who had minor maintenance complaints or issues, but for SPI you are not going to find better.Stayed July 2013, traveled with family“Second Stay Couple”BIBOG13- Tripadvisor

Our First stay was Really nice being the off season and everything was Great, including the Resaurant which has the best Omelette Island.
Our second visit was even better, Bar By the pool was nice, the Quarterdeck Sport Bar had a Great Band, and we were able to watch the Spurs game with good attention from the wait staff.
and George at the Front desk was very accommodating when we requested a room change for beach access.

“Isla Stay”

Roland C- Tripadvisor

Family Oriented resort with plenty of stuff for kids. Very clean rooms. Excellent staff! For the past two years, my family and I have been staying here, and we love it. Kids enjoy the stay and the beachfront scenery is awesome. Can’t beat the pool along with bar next to it. And for the night time you can’t beat the quarter deck with wife and kids. The resort is clean and this is the BEST place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!

Facebook

Twitter