Go to Top

Isla Grand Beach Resort Reviews

“family time”pastedGraphic.png

November 2015

Love the swimming pool , everything about it is awesome ! Employees are so nice and helpful . Food was delicious , the chefs did a really good job . My family and I are sure to visit again sometime . We really appreciated all the employees’ help .

“Ladies Night Out!”

pastedGraphic.pngNovember 2015

Awesome night at Isla Grand Beach Resort Was our first time and definitely we go back next reunion. The cosines and service was excellent. In the restaurant the breakfast portions very generous, lunch buffet a very large variety of my favorites. Personally I invite everyone to visit the hotel since you get in every associate treat you as well as your home.

“By far one of my best visits”pastedGraphic.png

November 2015

I had one of the most relaxing and enjoyable time at the isla grand. The staff was amazing and the manger patsy helped me dropped off stuff to decorate the room. That i was staying in for a awesome surprise that I had planed for my fiancé. The front desk staff assisted me with everything I needed and was really attentive.

“Isla Grande South Padre IWLQNE”pastedGraphic.png

October 2015

I really like this place a lot. We come here once a year for a legal seminar and stay about a week each time in one of the condos. We’ve been doing this for about 8 years now. I am sure there are fancier hotels on the island, but the staff here treats everyone like family and it would be hard to find a place more comfortable and welcoming.

“Had a Wonderful Stay”pastedGraphic.png

October 2015

Our stay was perfect. Loved the hotel and their amenities. We stayed in the beach front cabana and were steps away from their private beach. We only ordered breakfast during our stay but every meal we had was delicous with very generous portions . Our room was very clean and staff was very friendly.

“Sunrise On The Gulf…. Sunset On The Bay !”pastedGraphic.png

October 2015

Great place to stay! Enjoyed are time here very much! Great restaurant with delicious buffets. Pool and pool bar was wonderful. Staff was very accommodating. Our room on the end goes straight on to the beach! Loved it!

“Relaxing Island Getaway! ”pastedGraphic.png

October 2015

The Isla Grand has everything you need to have a great beach getaway without having to leave the resort. The pool has a great ambiance, the outdoor music sets the mood, and the pool side burgers are delicious! The beach access is extremely convenient! The Quarterdeck lounge is always a great time. The staff is welcoming and friendly! Overall the experience is relaxing, welcoming, and extremely fun filled! I enjoy my stay every time and highly recommend the resort.

“Great place”pastedGraphic.png

October 2015

As always this place has great rooms, the pools are big and beautiful. Food and nightlife on premise so no need to wonder off.

“Awesome thanks ”

pastedGraphic.pngOctober 2015

It was great ! The service at the restaurant was awesome . the food was great ! Mr.Raul Melguizo was very nice ! Enjoyed a drink at the bar afterwards! Went down to the beach We will recommend it to everyone! Muchas gracias FELICIDADES .

“Nice Conference Trip”pastedGraphic.png

October 2015

Enjoyed a stay at a recent conference. Had a FANTASTIC band in the bar!! Created a great atmosphere and a fun trip. Nice hotel, they were working on updating some rooms, but the ones that were completed were really nice.

“Resort Weekend Geataway”

pastedGraphic.pngOctober 2015

Isla Grand Beach Resort is a great place to escape reality for a couple of days. We booked our room online through Expedia , it was fast and easy . I called hotel early the day of check in to get information and already felt the great customer service vibe they offer to their guest. The front desk staff was awesome , Miss. Patsy Garza was very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in room with great view overlooking the pool. The rooms and pool area were spotless. It was the perfect hotel to stay at for my boyfriend and I. They have a great restaurant over looking the pool area and beach. Our waiter was very attentive , friendly and provided great dinning experience. We loved the idea of not having to leave the hotel for drinks and dancing. The Quarterdeck Lounge is a great place to go have drinks , relax and enjoy the great atmosphere of live band .The best part is that we just walked to it and did not have to worry about driving. We will definitely come back next time we have a chance. The staff and hotel over all left a great impression on us.

“Great time, food and pool!”pastedGraphic.png

October 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed at one of the cabanas. It was an awesome time even if we were never in the room. The pool area was phenomenal and dont get my started with friday’s sea food buffet the breakfast buffet has great omelets. In all we had a great weekend of lounging at the pool and taking in some sun. Highly recommend this place if only for the pool. Great staff as well.

“Best Family Vacation!!”pastedGraphic.png

October 2015

I am a frequent visitor to SPI and this hotel is the most suited on the island for my family and I. The grounds are a tropical oasis, and the large pool area provides a safe relaxing atmosphere for me and my family. I can lay out and relax on a lawn chair or at the pool side bar while my children safely play at the pool. The hotel provides daily activities for the children, such as the professional sand castle building that is amazing. Also the hotel has a large beach front property with volleyball courts, tennis courts, and they provide activities such as banana boats, boogie boards, and parasailing without having to leave the resort.

“Isle Grand Hotel South Padre Island”pastedGraphic.png

October 2015

Im a regular visitor to south padre island, and we always stay at the Isla Grand, its the only hotel on the island that has a resort feel. The rooms are very nice, the pool is very relaxing and clean, with a bar and burger stand on site, which is amazing!! the hotel restaurant has one huge window overlooking the pool and beach and the food is good as well . the Quarter Deck, which is the hotel bar always features a live band and is the most happening bar on the island by far.

“Weekend Stay”pastedGraphic.png

October 2015

I had a terrific stay. Even though there was a red tide I was able to play volleyball with my granddaughter in the sand without a mask and walked down the walkway to the the beach without having to step on the hot sand. Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful, band great!! Looking forward to my next stay!!


October 2015

Great place, amazing food, great management and awesome employees. Made me feel wanted and made sure I was comfortable! This is going to be my new vacation place. I am coming back very soon with my family. It is a very nice for a little family vacation!

“Great event”

pastedGraphic.pngSeptember 2015

I attended a wedding reception of a friend. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was amazing. I love all the pools and there are plenty of bars.

“Rose’s visit”pastedGraphic.png

September 2015

I had a great time. The people are all great to work with and the band was awesome. I love my room – I pick the same one each time. I hope to be back very soon.

“Best setting Resort”pastedGraphic.png

September 2015

It has the best beach access, the loveliest tropical style setting and views, friendly staff and good proximity to restaurants and shops.

“Great beach access excellent pools.”pastedGraphic.png

September 2015

The first improvement we noticed was the brand new boardwalk that takes you right to the beach. The pools are large enough for lap swimming and the waterfall is always refreshing. Truly a great resort.

“Excellent as Always!”pastedGraphic.png

September 2015

We have been coming here for 8 years now. Every year we receive the same excellent service. The grounds are very well kept, the swimming pools are always clean, the bar is very convenient, and the beach is just steps away. What else could you ask for?

This is definitely the only place you should stay while visiting South Padre.

“Wondeful Vacation Place”

pastedGraphic.pngSeptember 2015

Our Room had a wonderful view of both the pool and the beach. It was exactly what we were looking for when we decided to go to SPI. The staff was friendly and helpful. You have everything you need right here at the resort. No need to leave if you don’t want to. Bartenders at the Pool Bar were Great!!!

“Great Hotel!!! ”pastedGraphic.png

September 2015

We had a great experience staying at the Isla Grand. The employees were great & very helpful when needed. The location is also great and prices are so affordable compared to other beach front property.

We will defiantly be going back and recommend the hotel to anyone who ask.

“Fantastic week at Isla Grande”

August  2015

Overall great place to stay. The best value for your beach vacation for families or anyone.

“Exemplary hotel!”pastedGraphic.png

August  2015

I disagree with the negative reviews. The hotel was great… Another great addition to this hotel is the view from the balconies, it was extremely beautiful and big. This is definitely a place I would refer to any one of my friends. I will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

“Birthday Bash”

pastedGraphic.pngAugust  2015

All our family met and had a great time at Isla Grand. We enjoyed the beach, pool, restaurant and bar. Excellent customer service. General Manager Daniel Salazar was extremely hospitable.

They have brand new sleep number beds that were so awesome!

Can’t wait to go back in October!

“Excellent stay as always”

pastedGraphic.png August  2015

We’ve tried other hotels on the island but this is the best overall. This is our third or fourth time staying here.were able to relax and enjoy ourselves.

“Great get away before business in the Rio Grand Valley”pastedGraphic.png

August  2015

Nice room and lovely stay.. Pool area and beach well kept and relaxing.

“4th week of August, 2015”

August  2015

Beautiful resort, well maintained with access directly onto Gulf of Mexico. Sound of breakers as well as perfect view of Ocean from room balcony. Lots of live music afternoon, evening and well into late, late evening.

“Well worth the money and more”pastedGraphic.png

August  2015

This was our 2nd year in a row staying at this resort and was hands down even better than last year. scenery is amazing with great staff to make your stay even more enjoyable.  We will be back for sure next year and many more to come if all is well.

“Great Resort!!”

pastedGraphic.pngAugust  2015

Stayed at the Isla Grand in June for 2 nights and was amazed at how nice this place is. Great pool, restaurant and views. We had a two bedroom condo style room overlooking the pool and beach. The room was clean and comfortable and the resort had everything we needed.

“Wonderful experience”

pastedGraphic.png August  2015

The grounds were clean and well kept. The staff were friendly and made us feel really happy and comfortable. The rooms were beautiful, clean and the view is amazing. We all loved the pool and the kids played some tennis. The food is delicious and I love their outside bar.

“Perfect family getaway!”

pastedGraphic.pngAugust  2015

My family and I just spent about a week at the Isla Grand (7th floor on the tower), and we absolutely LOVED it!

“Excellent hotel”

August 2015

I decided to try this hotel for a quick, three night stay. The place was spotless, and very well kept. While we didn’t spend too much time in the hotel, other than sleeping, it left a great impression on us! The service from the staff, was amazing. The beach access was awesome. My kids loved the lighted pools and heated pools too.

We will definitely be back! Awesome job!

“Beautiful, comfortable and relaxing. ”

pastedGraphic.png August  2015

The Isla Grand is a beautiful hotel located on the beach. The rooms are comfortable and clean; staff was friendly and helpful.

“Amazing experience ”pastedGraphic.png

August  2015

We booked a last minute vacation to SPI and we wanted a resort style stay. Everything at Isla Grand was excellent: from booking the hotel to leaving. The staff and management were all attentive and made sure everything exceeded our expectations. The ocean view and sunrise from the condo was amazing. The room itself was inviting and upscale. The food was excellent. We ordered at all of the areas of the resort and received excellent service. I have a list of staff names but not enough character space to name them all. If you want a place to stay and not want to have to leave the resort, look no further. We spent days at the beach, by the pool, listening to live music, watching crab races, and enjoyed plenty of live entertainment! They provide fun activities for the kiddos. Best piña coladas on SPI too!!!


August 2015

Having a family and young children safety and family oriented is a big factor, you will get this as you stay at Isla Grande. The staff are above excellent and always go above and beyond to assure your stay is a great one. From the moment you walk in you are welcomed with open arms and made assure you feel at home. With plenty of events for all, to include arts and crafts and movie night for the kids, to comfortable and easy access to the beautiful SPI beach. You will not regret your stay and will regret not staying longer. Make your next stay this wonderful place.


pastedGraphic.pngReviewed August 15, 2015

5 stars all the way! Great rooms, great service and great staff!! Daniel the general manager went out of his way to take care of all of our needs and Patsy was an absolute superstar of service! All the other resorts in the area could learn a thing or two from the Isla Grand!!

“Family getaway”pastedGraphic.png

August  2015

Had a wonderful time at the hotel. The place was clean, quiet and very kid friendly. My two grandchildren loved the changing colors in the pool at night and the adults love the convenience of the poolside bar. The rooms were large enough to set up a travel crib with plenty of room to walk around.

“Great Meeting Place”pastedGraphic.png

August 2015

Ambience was inviting and relaxing. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Meeting room setup enabled presenters and participants the opportunity to participate in engaging activities. Free Wi-Fi was appreciated by presenters and participants. Breakfast and lunch menus served were excellent and break time snacks were enjoyed by all participants.

“Good Weekend Getaway”pastedGraphic.png

Reviewed August 10, 2015

Went for a weekend getaway, arrived early on our trip 12 pm the staff was extremely friendly and got us into our room within 5 mins. We had ocean view, king size sleep number bed which was awesome.  We will sure be coming back to this resort again.

“Great access to the beach”pastedGraphic.png

August  2015

Hotel a bit tired and in need of updating. Breakfast buffet very good. Pool and beach great. Starbucks on site : ) Full size fridge in room. Free parking and walking distance to shops and restaurants.

“Great facility for family get away!”pastedGraphic.png

August  2015

Very nice grounds, and easy beach access that was never crowded thanks to Sunny’s staking out the beach front directly in front of the hotel. Condo was clean, and everything worked accordingly. Staff was courteous and helpful regarding things to do on the island. And hotel food was convenient and taste was excellent. Also parking was not a problem any day of the week.

“Beautiful grounds and excellent staff”pastedGraphic.png

August  2015

We went for a short vacation and had a wonderful time. The grounds are very well kept and the staff is very friendly and attentive. Easy access to the beach and the pools are wonderful. We will be returning as soon as possible.

“Cabana Life!”pastedGraphic.png

August  2015

Great location, amenities, pool, parking, restaurant and service! The Isla Grand had everything to make our stay in South Padre awesome.

“Staying for a work trip, was AMAZING hotel”

pastedGraphic.pngAugust  2015

Room was wonderful, clean, no problems. No bathtub, but a huge rainfall shower. Literally 10-20 steps away from the beach. Staff was (with one exception one time) always friendly and extremely helpful over five days. The restaurant was great with prices comparable to an mid-upscale restaurant. The breakfast buffet is WORTH the money!  Most everything about this place is great. I recommend for all.

“Amazing Stay”pastedGraphic.png

August 2015

My husband and I went there in July for our honeymoon, we had a beach front room. The hotel was amazing. We had a great time there. it was easy access to the beach and the pool area was great as well. The one bartender in the hut the day i went wasn’t the greatest. the hut with the food by the pool had great hamburgers! and the staff was very nice when we checked in and out.

“Fantastic Vacation/Resort”

August 2015

The best resort we have stayed at by far on SPI! The condo was Beautiful, spacious and very clean! The WindJammer restaurant was Wonderful! Rick and Patsy at the Whiskey Shack were both Great! The Resort, facilities, rooms were Awesome…location a big plus also…Highly recommend!!!

“Amazing Hotel on the Beach”

July 30, 2015

Two of my girlfriends and I recently visited South Padre Island for a girls trip and had a first class experience at this hotel! We were treated like queens and can personally thank Alfonso, the manager, for upgrading our room to beach view for absolutely free! Wonderful customer service and I would go back in a heartbeat. The girls and I loved it!

“Beautiful Resort”

July 2015

Although I am big on reading reviews, I am not one to write one good or bad, however, I feel it is only fair to let anyone who may be interested in staying on South Padre Island know that The Isla Grand is an amazing Resort. We have been taking a family trip every summer to SPI and once again this resort has met all our expectations. Not only is the staff accommodating, the resort is very clean, it is never crowded, and you are right on the beach, not to mention all the amenities the resort has to offer. It is in walking distance to some amazing restaurants and cafe’s. You will not be disappointed!!!!

“High School Reunion”

July  2015

The staff and management were excellent and extremely professional. Augustine Rodriguez did an a outstanding job ensuring a memorable experience for our class reunion. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to celebrate any special event. It was awesome!

“Just hang out and unwind..”

July  2015

We spent most of our time at the pool/pool bar area. It was relaxing and we soaked up many rays of sun. You can enjoy a perfect breakfast omelette at the resort restaurant. They have hammocks you can enjoy after a swim to dry off. We really enjoyed our stay here.

“You gotta love South Padre!”

July 2015

And Isla Grande was a good enough spot for a meeting. The meeting room was good, and the catering was fresh and filling. After the meetings, our cabana was located mere steps from the pool and beach. We had a private deck with a view of the gulf and some of Texas’s finest beach front.

“Great location, expensive drinks!”

July 2015

I’ve stayed at this hotel several times while in SPI. Location is great! The pool is beautiful and the beach access is also perfect.

“Beautiful resort and awesome condo”

July  2015

The condos are wonderful. Spacious and upscale feeling.  The outside atmosphere was wonderful with two wonderful pools and literally less than 250 steps to the ocean. . Definitely want to stay at the condos if you can.


July  2015

Perfect place for an island getaway and to get proposed to spontaneously. The service from entrance to exit was exceptional and the view of the beach from the restaurant will relax you instantly making you not want to ever leave!

“Nice pool, amazing ocean view”

July  2015

The location was wonderful and convenient, overlooking the ocean from the cabana room, and offering short walks to the pool and beach. The main reason for staying at this hotel was because of the location which did meet our expectations. It was very easy to walk with a small child around the resort premises.

“Great time in SPI!”

July 2015

Just got back from Isla Grand and had a great time! We stayed in a cabana room, which was close to the pool, Whiskey Shack, and ocean. Everything was clean and service, I thought, was very good. Our a/c went out in our room and they were there within 15 minutes and had it going again in no time. We asked for more chairs for our patio and had them within minutes.

“Summer Stay”

July  2015

Enjoyed this resort very much! Has several eateries, rentals for the beach at your foot steps, 2 pools, gift shop and a coffee shop all on the premises! Very nice staff. Very nice cabana we stayed next to the pool with a slight view of the beach. Brought our dog and was accommodated for an area for his needs. Will be back!

“Great access to the Beach with a view.”

July 2015

We just got back from the Isla Grand it was our first time staying there and we weren’t disappointed.. The access to the Beach is so convenient,I could throw a rock from our room and it would land in the sand. The pool was nice the grounds were well manicured.. The staff was friendly. It was a very nice place to take your family.. The rooms were clean and the furnishings were up to date.

“Great View!”

July  2015

We enjoyed our stay and standing on our balcony felt like we were right on the beach. The access to the beach was great. The one item we had from room service was excellent.

Fun Trip

July 2015

I just returned from Isla Grand on South Padre Island. My wife and I had a great trip and enjoyed the property.
I stayed their previously when it was a different hotel. It is pretty much the same. I like pool, restaurant and bar located at the hotel. The landscape is great and has great access to the beach.


July 2015

Great staff, pool, and food. Short walk to beach. Stayed in a garden view room which was older, but located right by the pool for easy trips back and forth to the room. Will be going back next summer.

Great stay

5 of 5 starsJuly 2015

Very nice hotel. Had a cabana style room that over looked the pool and the beach. It was perfect. Short walk to pool and beach. Staff was very accommodating. Try the hammerhead drink at the pool, it won’t disappoint.

Beautiful beach getaway!”

June 2015

We had an amazing week staying at the Isla! The grounds and pool are an absolutely stunning tropical paradise. We also enjoyed the food and great location being steps from the beach. There are so many activities from tennis to swimming to shuffleboard to beach volleyball to napping in a hammock! The room and service were great too! They had a business center if needed and I could access the wifi in the courtyard from a comfy rocker. This was our second stay at the resort and plan to return again in years to come!

Easy beach access

June 2015

We stayed here in mid June for 4 nights. We were in a cabana room with a balcony. It overlooked the tennis courts and we also had a beach view. Our room was very quiet. I really liked how easily accessible the beach was from our room. The hotel also provided showers at the end of the property to allow guests to rinse off the sand before walking back. The beach area was very clean and the property was very clean.


Beautiful Property, great amenities!”

June 2015

We stayed in a 2/2 condo. Upon arrival @ 11am I was skeptical but once we walked inside, WOW it was lovely a tropical paradise ( for Texas). Staff was friendly and we were able to check in early and begin our vacation. The condo was beautiful and huge, we had a corner condo with a wrap around balcony great pool and ocean views. Loved the pools, pool bar, private beach access and activities. They have kids activities each day as well. We loved it and will definitely stay again. My only issue was the master bed was kind of hard for someone with back problems and the Mexican buffet on Wed night wasn’t as good as you think a resort of this magnitude would be. Otherwise, beautiful property, rooms, pools, and views. I do think the price is steep but the surrounding hotels/resorts are in comparison for the same size condo.


My Favorite Hotel on the Island”

June 2015

I have stayed here for many years, including before it was Isla Grand. I find it pretty and it has an onsite restaurant. The rooms are very nice and have an Island feel. We had no bed problems at all and my husband has back problems

Summer 2015 mini vacation

June 2015

I’ll start by saying my family recommended this hotel because they stayed several years ago and absolutely LOVED it

 “South Padre Vacation

June 20155 of 5 stars

It was an excellent choice for a place and a resort, exceeded expectations. We had a beach cabana room, like a small apartment…

South Padre Paradise

June  20155 of 5 stars

If you are looking for a resort type place at South Padre…this is a great place. You definitely feel like youre in almost like in Hawaii. Great atmosphere. You can walk directly to the beach. Its a full rest. Plus outside grill with to me the BEST burgers on the island. Also there is a cute bar by the pool. Signature drink is called “hammerhead” which will definitely get you hammered. You need to come and stay at least once to decide for yourself

Beautiful place

June 2015

Had an amazing time here,the best looking beach on the island.


Annual Memorial Holiday at the Isla Grand

May 2015

We Love the Isla Grand and started a tradition several years ago of visiting over Memorial Holiday for a 4 night, 5 day get away. This visit was great as always with our preferred, requested room right on the ocean which steps right out from our cabana onto the sand. Great food in the restaurant, relaxing and soothing time at the pool and most importantly, quality time together without the stresses of Life. We leave Life behind once we step off the plane in Harlingen and head out to this Resort. The Staff is always helpful, we stay in the same suite each time and really come back rejuvenated and de-stressed. Security is superb at this property and in fact one night I was sitting out around 11:15 pm just taking in the ocean beauty at Night and the Security walked up to see if I was OK and turned my night light on which I had not even noticed was off. I really appreciated that and felt secure that this Property really cares about their guests and their safety. They also patrol the pool area constantly taking care of any kids, etc. that aren’t following he rules. Kudos to this great Resort and we are booking our next Memorial Holiday a year ahead as we always do. Its well worth it and we look so forward to it during the year.
Jane  M.,  Austin, TX.

Best Place on the Island

May 2015

This is the only place we stay on South Padre Island. We have 3 more weekends booked for the summer. Great Staff and service.
Beautiful property well maintained. Entertainment is always fun and enjoyable. We always feel like we are in Paradise!

Fun Girls’ Trip

May 2015

My mother, sister, 4 grown daughters, and I had a great time at the Isla Grand last week. The hotel itself, and the pool area and grounds, are lovely and well cared for. The 2 bedroom condo we shared was a little worn, and smaller than we expected; but everything was very clean, and the bathrooms had been updated and were excellent. The maid service was very good, and the ladies were always friendly. In fact, all the personnel we came in contact with were friendly, courteous, and helpful. The location is prime, and I would definitely return, and definitely recommend it to others.

Isla grande hotel

May 2015

This hotel was awesome, the people were nice, the beds were comfy, plit had prime location. There was pretty much everything you wanted to do there and they went above and beyond to show us a great time! The staff is friendly and knows the best things to do on the island I would suggest staying here. …Overall, I had a great time there and would stay there again if I was in south padre island again.

Music at Quarterdeck Mondays

April 2015

When you think live music in a great atmosphere does not exist..travel to Isla Grande Hotel(Quarterdeck) and have your mind change for the better. After a great prime rib meal,you can listen to live music(practically the only place on Mondays on Padre Island)from some of the best musicians. The Toonz Band plays all the oldies and blues tunes that make memories.
If you have forgotten how melodies sound in great popular music,the Toonz Band will help you remember. Every Monday in a laid back atmosphere the best of the 70,80’s and onward can be heard(and even danced to)at the Quarterdeck. The Toonz consisting of three expert musicians will make your evening worthwhile. Check them out.

This was a very nice resort with great service

April 2015

We arrived and check-in was a breeze. Our room was oceanfront. There were dunes so the line of sight wasn’t direct, but it was still beautiful. The room was nicely designed with a refrigerator and wet bar. Beds were select comfort adjustable. … A great stay and I would highly recommend it. The visitors’ center is right next door so you can get everything you need to plan your vacation.

Great place to spend time

April 2015

This hotel is located at the ideal place right next to the beach. Great place to spend time. Great thing about this hotel are heated pools, very good ambience, close proximity to restaurants and water activities.

Business mixed with pleasure

March 2015

I had to attend a conference there and thoroughly enjoyed the facilities. Food was wonderful, service was impeccable, facilities were delightful! Only downside was lady who worked at the Starbucks in the lobby area- she was not very sociable and did not make a very good mocha. That was our only issue! We will go back again!

Best Spring Break Spot!

March 2015

The Isla Grand is the number one hotel/resort to stay at during spring break. I would even recommend it to my friends and family year round. The pool, greenery, and building is up kept to a tee. I absolutely loved my stay and would definitely stay here again, especially for the price. The only improvement I would say is the housekeeping lady could be a little nicer, but this was minor as housekeeping itself was amazing and done everyday! Front desk staff was also very helpful and friendly. Great stay and great views. Keep it up Isla Grand!

Over the Top!”

March 2015

We visited South Padre Island and the Isla Grand at Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time! Traveled with my parents and our adult children. My parents stayed in a room near the tennis courts and we had one in the high rise! … Our high rise condo was gorgeous!! Up to date decor and the perfect view. We also enjoyed the Thanksgiving buffet. The service was attentive and over the top friendly! Alfonso, the Front Office Manager and his staff did everything they could to make our stay perfect!


Our time on South Padre Island

February 2015

We were very pleased with Isla Grand. The rooms were nicely furnished and clean with everything you would need in the kitchen. The refrigerator even had an ice maker.  The balcony and the view were spectacular overlooking the ocean and the lighted pools at night.


“Great weekend”

February 2015

We spent a great weekend at the Isla Grand Beach. The best part about this resort is being able to have the patio slider open and hearing the ocean, and being only a few feet from the beach. Great place, great local restaurants.

Great Location and Condo

January 2015

We stayed in the 2 bedroom condo. The floor plan was perfect and the view off the two balconies was great. The decor was very up to date and the kitchen/dining area was great for 4 adults. We will definitely return to the Isla Grand Beach Resort..


Over the Top!

November 2014

We visited South Padre Island and the Isla Grand at Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time! Traveled with my parents and our adult children. My parents stayed in a room near the tennis courts and we had one in the high rise! My parents room was your typical hotel room…it probably could have used updating. Our high rise condo was gorgeous!! Up to date decor and the perfect view. We also enjoyed the Thanksgiving buffet. The service was attentive and over the top friendly! Alfonso, the Front Office Manager and his staff did everything they could to make our stay perfect!

Fabulous Find for a Family of Five

December 2014

The lobby smells deliciously fresh and clean. Staff were pleasant and very accommodating. We stayed in a two bedroom condo in main building and enjoyed our space and use of kitchen. The rooms were very clean, as well as the grounds. We found the food at the Cafe to be superb and plentiful. We enjoyed Starbucks coffee in the morning as we walked the beach, and drank strawberry daquiries in the afternoon by the pool. We were able to check out raquets and balls to play tennis. We did not want to go home and can’t wait to stay again


December 2014

5 of 5 starsMario, a server at the Isla Grande restaurant has always made my family’s visit so enjoyable. Not only did he make frequent visits to our table to make sure we had what we wanted but he was a great conversationalist and listener. He made us feel like family and we continue to come often knowing we can count on him for expert service and true hospitality.

Beautiful Thanksgiving weekend!

5 of 5 stars  December 2014

We stayed at the Isla Grand over the Thanksgiving holiday. The weather was beautiful and the hotel was lovely. We had a great view on the 5th floor over looking the pool and ocean. The grounds are so well landscaped and at night the lighting by the pool mimics a volcano glowing. The staff were very friendly and each time we had a problem with anything they helped us right away. The town was pretty quiet and it was wonderful to just walk the beach along the shoreline (water only 68 degrees). My husband and I were there with my mom and dad and we would sit on the deck and there was plenty of room for the four of us. The hotel has great food and we ate breakfast there several times and they put on a fabulous spread for Thanksgiving. It was very tasty and the restaurant overlooks the pool area and beach so the view was amazing. The only complaint is that they do not have coffee in the rooms even though they have coffee pots. They don’t sell it in the store there either. They offer complimentary coffee in the restaurant starting at 6:30 but my folks are up by 5:00a.m and waiting that hour and a half was hard for my dad ( we heard about it each morning). Kitchens are well equipped and the beds are very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay at the Isla Grand very much!

Great time!!!

December 2014

My wife and I, son, daughter-in-law, and two grandsons spent the Thanksgiving holiday at this lovely beach hotel. We had a GREAT time, and were very pleased to find the beaches almost empty, pools, hot tubs and restaurants not crowded, friendly service, and a great Thanksgiving buffet. First time in 35 years I didn’t have to do dishes… we really enjoyed the weekend, and we’ll be back!


December 2014

5 of 5 stars This resort was very accommodating. Had a small issue with billing but Mr. Augustine was very quick to resolve the issue. Very enjoyable place to stay and the food was excellent . Room was very nice .

Great Beach Front Resort To Take The Family

November 2014

5 of 5 stars I had a great time staff was amazing and I am looking forward to my next stay. Breakfast buffet and dinner was also very good. The beach view while eating dinner was beautiful.The pool was great for both my wife and my son. I will def recommend to friends and family. .and looking forward to staying again soon.

The best accommodations on South Padre Island.

November 2014

5 of 5 starsAn all inclusive resort that provides every amenity needed to ensure your travel needs are fully met to include the most customer friendly staff in the industry. Truly a home away from home with none of the work. We have a choice where we stay when we travel. This resort is a preferred destination of choice.

Love the Isla Grand

November 2014

5 of 5 stars This was our second stay on the island. I can’t rate the regular rooms as we stayed in the tower condos. We stayed for five days starting with Thanksgiving. The buffet and service were great. Love the tropical theme and will definitely be back. Would like to have seen more variety of drinks in the on-site store and maybe a few staples since we had a full kitchen in the condo.

Good stay on the island.

Reviewed November  2014

4 of 5 stars We stayed in a friend’s condo for the week, so I can’t give a review for the hotel rooms, but I can speak for the resort as a whole. Overall, the sort is very nice. Beautiful grounds, with 2 pools, 4 tennis courts, shuffle board courts, a restaurant, 2 bars, a store, coffee shop, and direct access to the vast island beach. We did not go to the restaurant, but the bar was fun. On Wednesdays they do crab races. Make sure not to miss that. We frequented the pool and hot tubs. They have a weird rule about bringing coolers into the pool area though. So, I brought a regular grocery bag and I had a few beverages inside. I did not appreciate being scolded by security for having a “cooler”. I was told to take it back to my room, which I politely responded with ” no. I don’t feel the need to go all the way back up to the 10th floor just to put an empty bag in my room”. He then left me alone. Other than that instance, we had no issues, and had a wonderful time. Sometimes the Internet works, sometimes it doesn’t, so beware.

Great Time

5 of 5 stars Reviewed November  2014

We had a wonderful stay over the Thanksgiving Holiday. The service was great and the buffett was wonderful. This is a great place to stay, they are so friendly and would get you what you needed. We will be back this summer.

Relaxing Vacation in Paradise

5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Had a wonderful long weakend stay at this resort. The property is paradise full of Palm trees and swimming pools with pool side bar. The beach is just a short walk away. There is a nightclub within the property which offers really good live acts. I would definetly recommend this hotel for buisness, family or friends getaway.

Best hotel on SPI

5 of 5 stars Reviewed November  2014

This hotel has everything you need! Beach access, on-site restaurant, pool, and bar. We came out here for our friends wedding. Our room had a garden view with two double beds. I think we figured out that all ground level cabanas have double beds and the 2 level have king beds.

A true paradise experience!

November 2014

 Played in the KC Woods golf tournie early in October . During our stay we enjoyed the beautiful pool and of course cocktails at the whiskey shack. The windjammers cafe was delicious and so much to choose from on the menu. We usually ended our nights with live music at the Quarterdeck. The music was awesome! All of the hotel staff were kind and helpful, and we would definently recommend anyone visiting spi to enjoy there paradise here!

Always a blast!

5 of 5 stars October 2014
The Isla Grand is an island classic. Most of the condos have been re-done recently and are very nice! The food in the restaurant is always good and the nightlife in the Quartedeck Lounge is the best. The Isla Grand is one of the few places you can stay on the island which you never have to leave. Beach, pool, restaurant, bar, store, everything is right there. And if you do decide to leave the property, great restaurants and shopping are just a few steps away. The poolside bar (The Whiskey Shack) is a great place to relax and enjoy the SPI Sunshine. Service this trip was top notch, as always. Love it!

Great place to stay on the beach

October 2014

Before settling on Isla Grande I thoroughly checked the Internet for the other possible locations, but Isla Grande seemed to be the perfect place since it had a two bedroom condo with two king beds. It was located close to the activities we were interested in- the beach, plus a beautiful pool area with a bar to boot. We were not disappointed! The care the staff took to keeping the wood and stainless polished was amazing. We loved our stay.

“Unpretentious and Very Consistent”

October 2014

My wife and I have been traveling to Isla Grand every week following labor day for the past 7 Years.
If it is anything, it is consistent. To see the same faces every year is a true testament to the way that they run their business. Rafael and Rick from the outside bar are a big reason as to why we return every year. They always remember our names and are very kind. If I heard correctly, they have both been there for over 15 Years. I know they have been there for at least 7. Make sure you make an effort to meet them if you decide to visit.
As far as where to stay, we always stay in the beach view rooms. We stayed in the condos one year and it was more of a hassle. If you need to go up to your room you have to walk through the lobby and up the elevator. It isn’t very convenient if you are wet from the beach or pool area. Plus, they are bit more expensive. If you do plan on staying for more than a week, it might be a good idea to stay in a condo so that you can make your own meals eventually. The food on the island isn’t the best. Do try Yummy’s, Grapevine Cafe, Gabriellas, Dirty Al’s, and the food at the Isla Grand restaurant.
The property is kept up very well. Every morning there are numerous landscapers taking care of the grounds. Oddly I recognize them from past years as well. The turnover at this place seems to be pretty low. That really says something.
Overall I would recommend this place highly. We have ventured out to scope out a few other places in the past years, and it seems like nothing else compares.
See you next year!



“Great place to stay”

October 2014


We planned a 30th anniversary get-away. Our reservation was for a beachfront room. When we got there, after an all day drive, the lady at the front desk told us there was a problem with the beachfront rooms. They up-graded us to a two-bedroom, two-bath condo on the 9th floor! If we weren’t on the beach, we were enjoying the great view from the balcony. We will return, and we recommend the Isla Grand to everyone



“Here’s what I think…”

October 2014

Just had to take a moment to recommend the Isla Grand. From my personal experience being there on numerous occasions I have been pleasantly surprised by the quality staff and was happy with the accommodations. I know that the hotel has been around quite a while but they have done some renovations and it is much improved overall. The hotel is a great place to stay, the beach is close, great pool, good restaurant with lovely view and everyone on staff has been super. Of course, not everything goes smoothly but when issues arrive I have noticed that the staff is very helpful and always willing to work with you, and that, to me means a lot.



“Isla Grand Beach Resort”

September 2014

I was impressed not only by the accommodations at the resort but the friendly and helpful staff. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a fun place to stay. These guys get 2 thumbs up! I will stay here on my next trip!



“Weekend Relaxation (Labor Day) The BEST!”

September 2014

Great location- Tennis Courts, 2 pools, 3 spas, beach, no resort fee, no extra parking fee, hammocks and shuffleboard. We stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Went to Hammerhead Deck for happy hour 5-9, then to Quarterdeck Lounge with great entertainment 9-close on night two. The Windjammer’s cafe was great and wonderful breakfast buffet with omelet station and they try to always seat you near the windows. Out around the pool was a Whiskey Shack open early to late and then the Isla Grill had very reasonable price burgers, dogs and chicken. We could not of had better service throughout the complex anywhere. The biggest plus- there were always lounge chairs out around the pool. The only con was the sleep number bed remote did not work. But what you have never had you can’t miss.



“Isla Grand”

September 2014


I found the entire hotel staff – Event Planning, Banquet Services, Audio/Visual, Guest Services, Front Desk staff, Bellhops, etc. – to be very professional and extremely accommodating to our needs. Special thanks to Pat, Terri, Edward and the entire staff including Bellhop Phillip McInnis who was seemingly everywhere when needed. A wonderful facility and great destination for both business and pleasure. The hotel lounges provide quality entertainment. Overall, a wonderful experience.



“Super Hotel-Awesome Service”

September 2014


This is a true, self-contained resort destination. The Hotel Staff from top to bottom treat you like family. In a time where service-oriented business is going by the wayside, this Hotel excels at treating you like a King or Queen. The restaurant is extremely reasonable on price, and the food is great. Most hotels really fail in the restaurant, but not this one. Great variety, great price, great taste. This was a business trip, and the meeting rooms were beautiful. Great live music bands from all over the USA play nightly at the bar. Can’t ask for any better beach-front location that has it all on South Padre Island, TX.

“Wonderful hotel”

July 2014

Isla Grand is a beautiful hotel that is clean, modern, and up-to-date. It has a wonderful beach front, 2 pools, and fun opportunities to enjoy water sports. We loved the restaurants and music groups playing there as well. The staff was helpful and friendly and our rooms were always clean. We enjoyed the fireworks each evening over the Laguna Madre, too. I’m sure you will have a fabulous vacation if you stay at Isla Grand on South Padre Island.



“Prime location for the perfect vacation.”

July 2014

Grew up on S. Padre. Was excited to go back. Isla Grand made me feel like I was right back home again. Went with my wife and four kids. We all agree that the pools were excellent, staff was extremely helpful, and the rooms were top notch. I would recommend Isla Grand as the ONLY choice if you’re heading to Padre.



“the most amazing place”

July 2014

I just net Raphael. I have been around the world to snow if the best hotels and resorts in Europe but Raphael at the isla grade is the most amazing person I have ever met. He was sweet, conversational, and intelligent all at the same time!! He tends bar in the beautiful waterfall and wave pool setting that they have am designed to give the experience of the beach without the sand!! If is an oasis in the midst of a desert. While breakers offers many pool experiences the isla grande offers the beauty with convenience please visit here and tell Raphael that you ‘heard it through the grape vine! He will definitely help to make your day a better fat wether it is with his smile, whit, Ir drinks. ☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️ Is how I feel once I left here!!!



“A Gem in the Middle of the Ocean”

July 2014

The Isla Grand Beach Resort is a wonderful gem located on South Padre Island, Texas. The views from this resort are incredible. The people there are friendly and helpful. They know how to make a vacation special,unique and restful. It is nice to find a resort like this to take a few days off or even a week. Plus the Isla Grand Beach Resort is in a great location on the Island. One of the best kept secrets about South Padre Island is the fall season on the Island. The water is still warm and the beaches are so pretty. I like the seafood at the Isla Grand Beach Resort restaurant too



“Wonderful Time – Great service; outstanding amenities!”

July 2014

We stayed at the Isla Grand with our three kids. We had an excellent time. With many options to stay in, we chose a condo for the view and kitchen. With two pools, weight room (on the beach), beach, we never had to leave the hotel. Isla Grand offers a wonderful restaurant with a beautiful view on the second level, a great place to gather in the evening for drinks (Quarterdeck). They make it so easy that if you’re outside, you can order a drink at the little cabanas as well as an outside burger stand. Plus, if you forget anything, the in-house market has it all! And most of all, they have a coffee shop on the first floor to help you grab that coffee to keep up with the kiddos. From the moment we stepped into the door, to the moment we checked out, the staff was very friendly and always willing to help – a great plus for a family with three little ones! All-in-all, we had an absolutely terrific experience!




July 2014

It was a wonderful stay from start to finish. From the moment we stepped into the lobby, the staff was totally amazing, they were able to give us our suite very quickly, not to mention the parking was very close and convenient. Our suite was beautiful with a breathtaking view of the entire pool area as well as the beach. The suite was beautifully decorated and the beds were so comfortable with plenty of comfy pillows. The entire suite was very clean and spacious and the kitchen was equipped with up to date appliances. It was absolutely fabulous. We highly recommend the Isla Grand Beach Resort. It’s a must stay.



“Want start your vacation right stay at the Isla Grand Hotel”

July 2014

I took my mother and Aunt to the Island, they really enjoyed their stay at the Hotel. We were able to walk down to the ocean and enjoyed our long walks in the mornings. Front desk was very helpful and friendly in getting us rooms on a short notices. I have family and friend who are looking forward to a vacation at the Island and I recommended this hotel to them.



“Awesome time!”

July 2014

My family and I had a fabulous time at the Isla Grand! Fabulous view of the Gulf and the great pool area from the balconies, Amazing breakfast buffet, friendly staff and great entertainment in the Quarterdeck Lounge! What more can I say, this place has it all. I will definitely be back!



“Amazing summer vacation!!”

July 2014

Our family of four (2 parents, 2 kids-3 & 5 yrs of age) had such a fantastic time at Isla Grand! The swimming pool was pristine with excellent service. The beach was just a short distance from our room with umbrella service readily available. We enjoyed a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Mexico from our balcony in the tower. The staff were warm and friendly, even providing fun children’s activities to give my husband and I a break. We also loved the daily and nightly live music as well as the quarter deck restaurant. We look forward to planning our return visit to Isla Grand!



“Great Experience!”

July 2014


Wonderful drive-up appeal. Christian, the gentleman outside the main entrance was a great help! The front desk staff appeared a little frazzled, but they were very nice. We booked about a month in advance and asked for a high elevation room, yet we were given a room on the lowest possible level. I spoke to the management at check out (Luis) about it and he was very nice and apologized. I should have spoken to someone about it when we arrived. I am sure they would have fixed it for us.
The room was very clean and beachy. The cleaning ladies were amazing! We were not the neatest guests, yet they were the best cleaning crew I have seen!
We had a suite. It had two bedrooms. One had a king and one had twin beds. The living room had a sleeper sofa. I wish one of the rooms had two queens instead of a king. The twins just didn’t work well for us.
The kitchen was equipped with dishes, pans, utensils, etc. All you need to add to produce a complete meal would be a can opener and food.
The eating options at the hotel were plentiful, yet lacked quality. There was a great Italian place within walking distance.
The hotel has a list of daily free activities for the kids and a parent’s night out on Saturday for $20 a child. This was a great vacation and I will definitely stay here again!



“Best place on the island!”

July 2014


I’ve come here every year and have never been disappointed. This what a resort should be. I highly recommend it. The pool is great and the staff is great. plus the Quarterdeck is a great party place. The rooms are clean and spacious.



“Beautiful View”

July 2014

I definitely feel that you pay for the view, and the upkeep of the grounds. The staff was very friendly, and the atmosphere was fun. There was an initial problem with our room, and they wanted to charge the same amount for a room with the view of a wall. The problem was absolved quickly, and we were given a room with a view of the beach. Much better. We brought our two girls ages 8 and 6, and this was there first time ever to the beach. It was great to be able to walk out onto the balcony and see the beach. I will say, the hotel room was a little run down. The door to the balcony was not easy to maneuver, and my husband was the only one who could really open and shut it completely. Our AC unit appeared to be falling out of the wall, and was very noisy. The room did not stay as cool as we would have liked, but it wasn’t too uncomfortable. As for the noise, we could not enjoy the sounds of the ocean because of the noisy AC units all around us. That was a little disappointing. The parking wasn’t the easiest either. There were little options to park near our room, and on multiple occasions, we had to back all the way down the drive to turn around. With that being said, we did enjoy the easy access to the beach. The pool was very refreshing and kid friendly when we were needing a break from the sand and waves. The breakfast at the hotel was always good. We enjoyed eating at the Hungry Surfer every day. Their hotdogs were amazing. Overall, we had a great time. It is definitely a family friendly place, and will probably stay there again.



“11 Annual Summer Conference”

July 2014

The Isla Grand Resort has the best customer service I have ever experienced. All the representatives at the Isla Grand will assist you with the utmost respect, courtesy and value. My experience at the Isla Grand Beach Resort has always been not just the very best, but memorable.



“Best Resort on SPI!”

July 2014

We’ve been here many times and just love to come back. The setting is beautiful. The pools have recently been re-done and are very inviting. The Whiskey Shack is a great place to have a drink and enjoy the beach life. The nightlife is the best on the island. The band in the Quarterdeck is always top notch.



“Great Place on the Island”

June 2014

This is our favorite place to stay on the island. Great access to the beach, superb pools and convenience just make it a great pick. My family loves it here from the grounds to the restaurants. For the cost, the condos were great. Large bedrooms, two full baths, full kitchen, with larger sitting/dining areas and beach view balconies are a definite plus to the property. Restaurants are great too, along with an onsite island services office, it jus really made for an overall convenient and great family trip! Not to mention, for work, the ballroom is the only on the island that can house a large event, short of the convention center. Also, for the island, the wifi was really good!



“Beautiful, relaxing and full of things to do”

June 2014

Our stay at the Isla Grand Beach Resort was more than we hoped for. I was concerned after reading several reviews but found no grounds for any of the negative feedback i read. The beach is clean and beautiful and the resort is located on the beach. The pictures do not do it justice. The landscaping is full of beautiful tropical flowers and well maintained. The rooms were just as advertised and the staff were friendly and accommodating in every way. I was not only pleased but surprised at how beautiful this whole property is and how well it is maintained. The grill at the pool is nice if you do not want to leave the pool area to go to a restaurant (burgers are very tasty). There is a starbucks located on the property. A convenient information desk has brochures to any activity or restaurant available on the island. There is free bus transportation to take you to local restaurants and bus schedules which are color coded and easy to understand. I would definately consider booking again in the future



“Jewel on SPI”

June 2014

Have been to the bar for nightlife but never stayed til this trip. Very clean, great beach atmosphere, pool is clean, although not a swim up bar was loaded with everything you need to eat and drink. Bartender was very hospitable and welcoming. Restaurant was not too expensive, good food and staff was nice. We requested a beachfront villa which is separate from the tower but room was nice and we were 10 steps from the sand. In room fridge, pullout couch and king bed. Easily would have slept 4. Our new favorite place!



“South Padre Islands Best Resort”

June 2014

South Padre Island is beautiful and loaded with hundreds of resort/vacation options but the affordable room rates and STAFF at the Isle Grand Beach Resort set this property apart from all the rest!
Centrally located, the entire resort is beautiful and belongs on a postcard. The rooms are spacious and very clean; as soon as you check in (always greeted by a smiling face), you are immediately relaxed and transformed into an islander. The grounds are impeccable, the views are gorgeous and the attention to every detail is simply first class. There is entertainment galore with plenty to see and do without even leaving the resort; great food, awesome pools, clean beaches, nightlife, tennis and plenty of other activities for both adults and kids alike. Teri, Pat and the entire Isle Grand staff are why we will be coming back and referring friends to this location for years to come…great job, as always, ladies!
Do yourself a favor and book your next trip to South Padre Island at the Isle Grand Beach Resort, you won’t be disappointed.


5 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2014

Great property featuring cabana type rooms as well as rental privately-owned condominiums. We stayed in a condominium and were impressed with all of the renovations that have been done in the last few years. Since our visit 5 years ago, kitchens and baths have been upgraded and most recently HD TV service and wireless internet throughout. A major renovation of pool area featuring zero entry and state of the art lighting at night. Windjammer Restaurant offered great quality and reasonably-priced food with a wonderful view–day or night. Quarterdeck Bar provided great live entertainment with no cover charge and only an elevator ride back to our room. Staff was most helpful with questions and requests. Only adverse comment we heard was from a lady on the elevator who had rented privately and was denied access to ice machine, laundry, fitness center etc. so would recommend renting directly from Isla Grand or at least check with them to make sure if renting online that it is approved by Isla Grand to prevent disappointment.

April 25, 2014

Isla Grand is hands down the best property on South Padre Island, the customer service is amazing and the staff goes above and beyond to meet your needs. The Windjammer Cafes food is amazing and the Quarterdeck is always FUN FUN FUN!

5 of 5 stars5 of 5 starsReviewed May 1, 2014EW

As locals, we go to the island a lot. Sometimes we spend the night and sometimes we just stay the day. But our favorite spot to go, is Isla Grand. We love the pool area and now that it is fixed up, it’s better than ever! The lights at night are awesome, too. Very relaxing and enjoyable experience for the whole family.

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 4, 2014NEW

Had a great time the Hotel was great no problems with the registration. The friendliness of the staff was great. The club was awesome the music and the great friendliness of the staff and the enviroment was great. Great place to go too and would recommand it to friends and family.

5 of 5 stars5 of 5 starsReviewed May 5th, 2014NEW

Very friendly staff, best hotel on the island, has great night life, food, and ambiance off the pool/beachside is amazing! From entering into the marble foyer to check out this hotel is 5 star all the way …

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 5, 2014NEW

I attended a seminar at another location but had to stay at Isla Grand with my family since they were the ones that could accommodate my family. My family did not want to leave!!! We have already booked our next family vacation and other family and friends will be joining us.


Kevin L

“Pearsall Texas


Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everything you want in one place. Restaurants, night life, swimming pools, fitness room and the beach. The staff was very friendly and the entertainment was fantastic! If you did want to leave the resort you never needed to get in your car. We found some great restaurants and shopping all within a couple of blocks. Very easy walking distance. We will definitely be coming back to Isla Grand. There is something for every age group here.


Saul P

Austin, TX

“40th Birthday on SPI”

Reviewed August 20, 2013

It has been several years since we have stayed at Isla Grand and the improvements are noticeable. The room we stayed in did not look or feel dated, was clean, and very large. The restaurant for breakfast was outstanding and the service was excellent. The two swimming pools are beautiful but I wish the water had been cooler-it felt like a lukewarm bath late in the afternoon. One concern was the amount of debris on the pool’s edge later in the afternoon-it was obvious the guests left it there and no one from the hotel stakk had bothered to clean it up. One word of advise-if you stay in a cabana and want to walk out of your room and straight into the pool or beach ask for the first floor. If you stay on the second floor you have to enter from the parking lot side and although you have a beautiful patio looking at the pool and ocean you have to walk and take stairs to get to the water.



Dallas, TX

“Wonderful time with my Granddaughter”

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have stayed at Isla Grand for many years. First trip with my 9 year old Granddaughter (By Myself). One of those memorable times you will remember the rest of your life. The staff become friends over the years and always extremely helpful. Always consistent and great service and food. Whiskey Shack is a blast with Rick and Raffeto the best bartenders in the U.S.

Great place for families and would always recommend


Larry M

San Antonio, TX

“September Singles SPN trip to So Padre”

Reviewed August 5, 2013

WE had 45 of us go there last September and had so much fun that 35 of us are going back this coming Sept. 2013 for a 4 day trip
The food at the Hotel is great and down the way Louies is also great
Pier 19is good for lunch & margaritas.
We also had a good time on the beach and the water was so clear you could be chest deep & still see your feet.




“Overall great experience! We’d stay here again!”

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We checked in on Thursday, 7/25 and checked out on Sunday, 7/26. Our family travels ALOT, so we are probably considered “hotel snobs” but we let the staff know that when we checked in. We booked a 2 bed/ 2 bath condo. According to the staff all of the condos are individually owned so they can’t guarantee that the rooms are all updated the same. Our first room had a wonderful view, a wrap-around balcony, granite countertops however the fridge was old and the furniture was dated. Based on the price we paid per night we requested another room, it took about an hour but Omar the manager accommodated our request. The condos have full kitchens with a stove/oven, flatware, cooking utensils, plates, glasses etc. All condos face the beach, pools and tennis courts.
We stopped in Port Isabel to purchase snacks, bottled water etc.

This hotel has full beach access, two pools, a pool bar, etc. the photos are an accurate depiction. The grounds are beautiful and clean.

It’s extremely difficult to keep everything clean at a beachfront hotel so at the end of the day yes there is sand in the pool. No big deal, I’ve experienced the same in Jamaica, Cancun and Hawaii.

The staff throughout the hotel was extremely friendly and attentive. The buffet breakfast at the Windjammer was tasty and included made to order omelettes, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage and pancakes.

We absolutely loved the hamburgers prepared at the grill by the pool! You gotta try them! Real charbroiled beef burgers!


Exquisite service!”
Back at the Isla Grand again!
Once more the friendliness and professionalism of the staff made our stay
wonderful. Manager David Gracia made us feel like we were family when we
entered the Windjammer Restaurant. The food and accommodations were out of
this world! The view of the Gulf of Mexico was amazing.

“The service and staff are tops.”

I have traveled through out the world and to discover this type of service in my own backyard is awesome. Recently I hosted my motor cycle club Christmas party (apprx 600 guest) at the Isla Grand Resort and the service and accommodations were the best. The service and attention to details provided by all of the Isla were great. I would definitely recommend the Isla Grand to anyone wanting an unforgettable experience. The management was available throughout the entire stay and event to assist with any unforeseen issues. I would highly recommend the Isla Grand Resort South Padre Island to anyone wanting to host an unforgettable event.

Yours truly,
BlueICE (Treasurer)
Los Canales/La Familia Motor Cycle Club
South Texas Chapter
Stayed December 2012


“Hands down best resort on the Island!”

Hands down Isla Grand is the best resort/hotel on SPI. Great beachfront location, fabulous pool and pool side bar, great on-site restaurant (ask for David – he’s our favorite manager), on-site bar with large TV’s and great music for dancing! Great for family and adult only getaways! We always look forward to the annual Redfish Rodeo ladies only fishing tournament headquartered at the Isla Grand. I’m one that normally loves going “off-campus” however you really don’t need to when you have everything right there!. Book your next stay in SPI at Isla Grand, and you wont regret it!

Room Tip: We prefer pool side rooms!

“Isla Grand Resort – S Padre Island, Great accommodations and staff”

What a FANTASTIC place to stay!!! Awesome and pet friendly as well… *****
Five Star *****

Had a great time. Great staff with great accommodations. Very pet friendly and perfect for a getaway. I recommend this resort to those of you who are unfamiliar with the Island and just looking for a great place to stay. The staff was unbelievably kind and courteous. The main restaurant was phenomenal with a great view. My comments don’t do justice to the fantastic, fun, romantic time you will have here. Thanks to the managers Omar and Agustin for great personal service as well. Looking forward to our next visit.

Jack Johnson

“Great week in SPI”Waltapod- Tripadvisorreturned to the isla grand for a 3rd year in a row to attend a conference. location is excellent. stayed in the 2/2 condo portion. all the condos have slightly different interiors, but all are well appointed with everything you need. price has been steadily increasing and finding a rental is a becoming a better value, if budget tight. excellent pool area and quick easy access to the beach. wi-fi continues to not function well in the tower, but a trip down to the lobby areas will cure this. still one of the finest properties on the island. can not completely disagree with some of the reviewers who had minor maintenance complaints or issues, but for SPI you are not going to find better.Stayed July 2013, traveled with family“Second Stay Couple”BIBOG13- TripadvisorOur First stay was Really nice being the off season and everything was Great, including the Resaurant which has the best Omelette Island.
Our second visit was even better, Bar By the pool was nice, the Quarterdeck Sport Bar had a Great Band, and we were able to watch the Spurs game with good attention from the wait staff.
and George at the Front desk was very accommodating when we requested a room change for beach access.“Isla Stay”Roland C- TripadvisorFamily Oriented resort with plenty of stuff for kids. Very clean rooms. Excellent staff! For the past two years, my family and I have been staying here, and we love it. Kids enjoy the stay and the beachfront scenery is awesome. Can’t beat the pool along with bar next to it. And for the night time you can’t beat the quarter deck with wife and kids. The resort is clean and this is the BEST place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!




Follow Me on Instagram
  • Just what the doctor ordered #southpadreisland @islagrandbeachresort

    islagrandbeachresort: "Just what the doctor ordered #southpadreisland @islagrandbeachresort"
  • Such a nice day @islagrandbeachresort on #southpadreisland #niceday

    islagrandbeachresort: "Such a nice day @islagrandbeachresort  on #southpadreisland  #niceday"
  • Tonight in the #quarterdeck night club. Dance live. Music at 9 pm with @platinumcafe

    islagrandbeachresort: "Tonight in the #quarterdeck night club. Dance live. Music at 9 pm with @platinumcafe"
  • Starting at 6 pm don't miss country music at its best

    islagrandbeachresort: "Starting at 6 pm don't miss country music at its best"
  • Great time with #cherry so cool so fun danced all night with the rest of the island @sarahsparrowmusic

    islagrandbeachresort: "Great time with #cherry  so cool so fun danced all night with the rest of the island @sarahsparrowmusic"
  • Tonight in the #quarterdeck it's one of our newest bands #cherry

    islagrandbeachresort: "Tonight in the #quarterdeck  it's one of our newest bands #cherry"
  • Thank you to all the followers who started following us @islagrandbeachresort in the last month and all the rest who follow now #southpadreisland

    islagrandbeachresort: "Thank you to all the followers who started following us @islagrandbeachresort in the last month and all the rest who follow now #southpadreisland"
  • Clay underwood is playing at the #islagrand

    islagrandbeachresort: "Clay underwood is playing at the #islagrand"
  • Isla grand right now. Such a wonderful day #southpadreisland #hammerheaddeck #clayunderwood

    islagrandbeachresort: "Isla grand right now. Such a wonderful day #southpadreisland #hammerheaddeck #clayunderwood"
  • Welcome to #southpadreisland come hang out at our pool #stephenbaldwin

    islagrandbeachresort: "Welcome to #southpadreisland come hang out at our pool #stephenbaldwin"